centered image

The Key to Being an Attending Physician

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Nov 27, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

When I graduated from residency, I was too worried about killing my first few patients to examine the meaning of being an attending physician. An early patient, a 97-year-old retired doc, brought it to my attention.

[​IMG]

“Being an attending physician means you attend. When you attend me, all I want you to do is show up. You do not have to do anything. Keep the people with needles, knives, and nonsense away from me.”

We never discussed that I was his attending physician again. I was careful to do little for him besides our routine appointments. For him, the importance of “attend” was “show up” versus “do interventions.” This is attend in the spirit of “attend a basketball game” or “attend elementary school.”

When I became a patient, I learned other meanings of attend: Apply one’s mind or energies to, pay attention to. As in, I am attending the warning signs.

I had been bouncing around in the medical system for months. I was attending my symptoms quite assiduously. Some of my doctors seemed to be, and some did not. When my attending doctors did not seem to be applying their minds and energies, I felt like I was wasting my time and money, being told I was fine, despite not feeling fine, on the one hand, and having inappropriate tests on the other.

I get it. I’m a primary care doctor. My patients stream by so quickly that it is difficult to focus my gaze—never mind my attention—on each one before the system conveys me away to the next one and the next. Focussing my attention requires me to direct my energy, which is a surprising amount of work. However, if I do not direct my energy to each patient, I will miss details that aren’t really details.