centered image

The Lost Sheep: They’re MDs But Can’t Find Residency Positions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Oct 29, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

This was an email. I read your article on Physician’s Weekly about unmatched MDs. I am a bit down and looking for advice. I graduated from a Caribbean Med school. I have failed attempts and many gaps. Academically I dug myself into a deep dark hole, but my desire to practice medicine kept me going. I recently took Step 3 and just received my scored (failed by 2 points). I do not know anyone in medicine that can help me get a residency. I know I will be a great physician. I am just a horrible test taker.

I didn't apply for the match since I was told that I needed to pass Step 3 to even try to match which would still be almost impossible even with a good score. I know many people who have not matched and have just given up on it. I have so much debt and no way of paying for it. What do you suggest I do? A friend thinks I should just take it again and apply, but I no longer have the funds especially since my chances are so low. I wish there was something more for me.

Any words of advice would be really appreciated.

And this was a comment on the Physician’s Weekly post mentioned above. There needs to be a job market for med students having passed boards but not matched. A PA can work after just 2 years with far less knowledge. I’m a Caribbean grad, unmatched, in debt, depressed, and unable to find work even when leaving MD off my resume. I was top of my class when I graduated but took my Step 1 twice. Now I’m banished to a cave even though I know I would’ve made one hell of a physician. :-( It’s the reality. Five years have passed and I’ve given up. My poor wife works, and I do odd jobs.

How sad. I regret I have no useful advice for both of them and the many others who are in the same situation.