centered image

centered image

The Medical Education Question That Needs To Be Changed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 19, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

“What do you want to be when you grow up?”

That is a common question you hear in the setting of medical education. I think I heard it for the first time on my first clinical rotation. A little background, I was a non-traditional medical student. I worked as a clinical pharmacist for ten years prior to starting medical school. When the resident asked me that question, I was initially a bit confused. I thought it was odd for a twenty-something resident to ask someone much older (40 at the time) such a question. But very quickly, I realized that he meant what specialty I was interested in. I have heard the same question numerous times since then, have responded appropriately. But in the back of my mind, it always feels strange to be asked such a question. As far as I know, no other profession asks their trainees such a question. Why not just say it in plain English, “What specialty are you interested in?”