centered image

centered image

The Need For A Standardized Approach To Weight Loss In Medicine

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jun 13, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Any social media platform can boast an abundance of practical health and weight loss recommendations, whether scientifically accurate or not. Many professional athletes and companies are eager to sell their plans for a premium price and advertise them to the public heavily. Unfortunately, U.S. medical education cannot boast the same dedication towards confronting the obesity epidemic. By the end of my first year of medical school, I had only two lectures that included a slide or two on obesity and weight loss. How can this be, knowing that obesity is an epidemic in the United States with high prevalence, morbidity, and mortality rates? As a first-year medical student, I could sooner diagnose many obscure genetic disorders than I could confidently address a patient, family, or friend about weight loss. Having finished 17 years of education, I expected to have heard some sound advice on this matter. Such was not the case, and it needs to change for future medical students.

[​IMG]

Before medical school, I worked as a scribe for four fellowship-trained orthopedic surgeons in a private practice office. I admired each physician’s clinical acumen and mastery of their respective specialties. As time went on, I noticed that each doctor counseled patients on weight loss differently. One might have recommended a calorie deficit, another might have suggested a reduction in carbohydrate intake, and still, another may have recommended intermittent fasting, each insinuating their own interpretations of the science of weight loss. I admire them for at least addressing their patients’ weight and endeavoring to help them. However, I left this experience wondering why these expert clinicians all had a different understanding of the same medical problem.