centered image

The New Rules Of Time Management

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 22, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Pediatric cardiac anesthesiologist, woman, mother, wife, friend, mentor. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t trying to “work smarter, not harder” to get it all done and feel good about myself, only to begin climbing the mountain with a fresh list the next day. My goals were simple: peace of mind and a sense that I was in control of my life and doing a good job for all the people who needed me. Just a little more effort, better organization, and I would be there.

As a physician coach, I find that the topic of work-life integration is always at or near the top of the list of issues for clients. Reading Oliver Burkeman’s excellent book Four Thousand Weeks: Time Management for Mortals made me do some critical thinking. Although we act as if time is a commodity, it has no tangible essence. It can’t be owned. And though we constantly behave as if it’s unlimited, we know better, especially as physicians. All we really have is the present moment. What is it we’re really trying to manage? And, equally importantly, what sense of failure do we inflict on ourselves with our continuing unsuccessful attempts to fit more than 24 hours of activities into each day?

Allocating our daily time is not a management game or a puzzle with a perfect solution and a prize for the winner. To paraphrase the poet Mary Oliver, this is our one wild and precious life. It’s time to reclaim it and regain some calm, and even joy, in our everyday lives.

[​IMG]