centered image

The Poignant Message In The Balloon

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Oct 8, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

After the combination of COVID-19 and George Floyd’s death, it felt like time stood still across the Twin Cities. As a physician, I couldn’t understand how a pandemic response could be partisan. However, I became even more shocked at the partisan divide when it came time to discuss racism and gender equity. As a physician, we take an oath to protect life. We are trained to care for people in an unbiased fashion. We are supposed to read the data and make decisions free from personal filter to protect the community.

Before COVID, I took many things for granted. I often was reluctant to go on hikes with my kids. We always had something planned: baseball, gymnastics, piano. Now every morning, we go on a walk.

We decided to go to Minnehaha Falls. We noticed new graffiti dedicated to George Floyd. I realized that in his death, people wanted to give him a sense of permanence. Everyone wanted to make sure this was another human being, father, friend, that didn’t leave this world without touching other people’s lives. Everyone struggles to feel a sense of permanence and connectedness. I work as hard as I do, to bring change to the community, help my patients, because I want to feel like my life mattered. I want to know that someone, somewhere, is in a better situation because I existed. To me, it felt like whoever did that, wanted us to understand that he mattered, and that is something I can understand.

[​IMG]