centered image

The Problem With Allowing COVID-Positive Health Care Workers To Continue Working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 18, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

On November 9th, the governor of North Dakota, Doug Burgum, decided to allow hospital workers with COVID-19 to continue to come to work. He required that they be asymptomatic and that they only work on COVID-19 wards with COVID-19 patients. Given at-capacity hospitals and skyrocketing case counts in that state, health care workers (HCW) had asked state leadership to take extraordinary measures to curb disease spread. HCW were (and are) sick and tired. Since March, they have been asked to sacrifice their health, time with loved ones, and sometimes even their lives, to take care of COVID-19 patients. As a physician, my initial reaction was negative, but it took me several hours to put into words why that was. When I finally did, I realized my reaction was complex because there were so many things wrong in this picture.

Essential workers of all types have been asked to give more than the rest of society. However, the pandemic has truly laid bare how little the rest of society is willing to give to us. The governor of North Dakota could have issued a state-wide mask mandate (he eventually did on November 14, 2020). He could have asked more of his populace by limiting indoor dining and other non-essential indoor activities such as gyms and group sports. And yet, he did not. He instead chose to ask more of HCW in his state. He asked them to give more by coming to work when they should have been quarantining at home with their close contacts.

To be fully transparent, I should mention that the CDC does allow for this in its “Strategies to Mitigate Healthcare Personnel Staffing Shortages”:

[​IMG]