centered image

The Psychological Impact of Scrubs on Healthcare Workers

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Yumna Mohamed, Jul 10, 2024.

1. Yumna Mohamed

Yumna Mohamed Bronze Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Why Scrubs Make Me Cringe: A Doctor’s Perspective

Introduction

Scrubs have become the quintessential uniform in the healthcare industry. From television shows to real-life hospitals, the image of medical professionals clad in these simple garments is ubiquitous. Yet, despite their practicality and widespread acceptance, I find myself cringing at the thought of wearing scrubs. As a doctor, my perspective on scrubs is shaped by a blend of practical experiences, personal preferences, and the deeper implications these garments hold in the medical profession.

The Historical Context of Scrubs

To understand my aversion to scrubs, it’s essential to explore their historical context. Scrubs were introduced in the early 20th century as a response to the need for sanitary medical environments. Initially, they were white, symbolizing cleanliness. However, the color was changed to green or blue to reduce eye strain during surgeries. These garments were designed to be practical, easy to clean, and affordable—qualities that remain their main selling points today.

Trusted Source:

The Practicality of Scrubs: A Double-Edged Sword

There is no denying that scrubs are practical. They are made from durable materials that withstand frequent washing and the rigors of a hospital environment. They provide a uniform look that can help reduce the spread of pathogens and make it easy to identify medical personnel. However, the very features that make scrubs practical can also make them uncomfortable and unflattering.

• Material Concerns: Most scrubs are made from a blend of cotton and synthetic fibers, which can be harsh on the skin, especially during long shifts.