centered image

The Silent Burden Of Shame

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 7, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Shame.

It’s what keeps physicians silent. It’s what keeps physicians from getting the help they need.

I’ve been a successful doctor for many years, but I’ve lived with the shame of having an eating disorder. It was my secret that hardly anyone in my life knew about.

No more. My shame is gone, and I’m ready to tell you my story.

When I was in eating disorder recovery, my therapist asked me a question that I thought about for many months to come. She asked me, “Why are you so ashamed of your eating disorder?”

The only answer I could come up with was, “It represents a personal failure.”

By its very nature, medical school attracts driven, hard-working people who have rarely known failure. Then, throughout our medical training, we are taught to pursue perfection.

[​IMG]

Even though perfection is impossible, we all strive to be the best physicians we can be.

But what happens when those perfectionist tendencies affect how you eat? What happens when your desire for certainty causes you to abuse food when things don’t go according to plan?

I’ve had an eating disorder since I was 17 years old. However, it worsened in medical school, and it worsened even more throughout residency. It continued once I became an attending, and I’d gotten to the point where I believed my eating disorder was just a chronic illness that I was going to have to live with for the rest of my life.

Then COVID hit, and everything fell apart. Eating disorders are often about control, so I attempted to regain it through eating when the pandemic took that control away.

I’ve engaged in almost every eating disorder behavior you can imagine throughout my life. But when COVID hit, my coping mechanism became eating.