centered image

The Times We Need To Be Reminded Why We Went Into This Profession

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 15, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Years ago, I watched an interview on TV with nurses who cared for a man dying of Ebola. Their words and actions continue to ring as true today during the ongoing coronavirus pandemic as they did then.

Their compassion deeply moved me for this man dying a horrible death. They did all they could for him, not only medically but also emotionally. They spoke of the fear that gripped them, knowing the personal risks they faced. Yet, each voluntarily chose to care for him. When asked why they would put their lives at risk, they gave the answer you would expect: I am a nurse; this is what I trained to do. But the answer that moved me to tears was, “He was alone because his family could not be with him.” These nurses did not want him to be alone, die with no one to love him, comfort him, and care for him. They described how, despite wearing all the protective gear, they would hold his hand, speak words of comfort and reassurance, and toward the end simply hold him. When he died, the nurse caring for him said that there were tears coming down the patient’s face after being placed on the ventilator. She tried to reassure him that everything would be OK, but 15 minutes later he died. The nurse cried and said, “It was the worst day of my life.”

[​IMG]