centered image

The Truth About Being a Doctor's Wife

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, Mar 7, 2016.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Hi there. I'm a doctor's wife. but guess what? It ain't what you think it is. I'm not complaining, but I repeat: It ain't what you think it is.

When I was a student at UCLA, my mom would always tease me and say, "Go hang out at the medical building and see if there are any cute doctors to date (and later marry)." My creative, musical theater, Communications major personality would promptly fire back: "Doctors are boring. I don't want to marry a doctor." And then we'd both laugh.

About 10 years later, I ended up meeting a cute surgeon. Keep in mind, the thing that got my attention was not that he was at the top of the medical profession, but rather that he was once a behind-the-scenes consultant for ABC's hit show "Grey's Anatomy." Now thatwas interesting to me. Hey! This guy's fun and exciting and loves TV and entertainment

Now, when I meet people and tell them that my husband is a plastic surgeon, I see the mixed looks of fascination, curiosity and instant sizing-up of me in their eyes. They covertly look me up and down (maybe a little disappointed when they glimpse my less than $80 shoes). They glance at my wedding ring. They ask me how often I get free Botox (let's just say I've tried it less than the amount of fingers you can count on one hand). Because doctor's wives have the cushiest, easiest, most carefree life.

Allow me to set things straight about being married to a doctor:

1. No, we're not rich