centered image

The Unsettling Result Of A Negative Coronavirus Test

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 1, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

As a psychologist, I have long been aware of some of the emotional impacts that illnesses like COVID-19 can have on individuals and families. I never imagined that I would experience some of these impacts directly. Furthermore, I never could have guessed what it would feel like to be told I tested negative for COVID-19 when I was feverish and fighting for air at the height of the pandemic.

I started feeling sick several weeks ago. It began as innocuous chest congestion of the “am I really feeling this or is it only my anxiety?” variety. My husband, two teenagers, and I had flown home from a curtailed Hawaiian vacation nine days earlier. Since then, we had been cleaning our delivered groceries with alcohol wipes, washing our hands far more often than usual, and taking social distancing seriously. Maybe what I had was just a cold. On the third morning, I woke up with nausea, headache, chills, shortness of breath, and the disturbing realization that I could have the coronavirus.

The psychological effects of this pandemic are vast. For the healthy, there is a great fear of getting sick. It makes sense. With all of the extreme cases being reported in the news, we are conditioned to believe that having the coronavirus could lead to hospitalization, intubation, and even death. However, it is important to note that this will not happen to the vast majority of the population who contract the disease. Up to 80 percent of people with coronavirus have either no symptoms or mild to moderate symptoms that can be managed at home. If the newspaper printed those stories, it would be three feet thick and utterly boring.