centered image

centered image

The Unvaccinated And A History Of Cynicism

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 22, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

The vitriol that characterizes discussions about vaccines, masking, and school policies has been deeply disturbing. I am a physician who is concerned about COVID. At first, I thought that everyone would want to be vaccinated. I thought that the pandemic would cause everyone to isolate and socially distance to protect themselves, their families, and their communities. Now we know it did not turn out that way. As I reflect on it, I think that we should not be surprised. Our history should have prepared us for a cynical lack of unity and resolve. Our response to the COVID crisis has uncovered the ugly history that has led to our current crisis.

In World War II, my dad and many other of our dads, uncles, and grandfathers went to war. They fought willingly to protect the United States and to preserve democracy and the American way of life. But, in the 60s, I rushed to be in the public health service so that I would not be drafted to go to Vietnam. I felt that it was an immoral, pointless war, one that was not worth dying for. Many others of my generation felt the same way, but others felt that going to war was patriotic. Vietnam was the start of the great divide. After the war, we had runaway inflation, a junk bond crisis, a savings and loan crisis, a dot com bust, and stagnation of wages. The economic inequality between the one percent and ninety-nine percent became ever wider, breeding resentment and anger. The result was that a large segment now felt that their country had changed. Their needs were no longer being prioritized by the leaders of government, science, and medicine.

[​IMG]