centered image

The Vaccinated And The Anxious: Lessons From The Pandemic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 11, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As a primary care physician, I eagerly discuss the importance of routine vaccines with my patients. My patients bring varying beliefs and opinions about vaccines to our conversations. Some of my patients share my enthusiasm, and other patients share their questions or hesitations with me that we review in greater detail together. Still, other patients share with me worries and fears about vaccines that my counseling and reassurance can only infrequently overcome.

I certainly respect my patients’ choices in my practice; I chose primary care because I truly treasure the collaborative, longitudinal relationship that I can craft alongside my patients. Primary care has felt like home to me because I can offer partnership and non-judgmental understanding to my patients.

As a young physician, I have sometimes struggled to find balance between this commitment to allyship and the recommendations I have learned to offer through my own medical education and training. I have worried that more directive recommendations could usurp my non-dogmatic intentions. For example, I have worried that emphatically recommending to a patient the initiation of an evidence-based medication to reduce their risk of cardiovascular disease invalidates true fears or negative experiences they carry about Western pharmacologic interventions. However, in these difficult moments, I have learned that my levelled partnership with my patients does not solely exist in the space of nonjudgmental, nondirective understanding; rather, as a physician, my partnership with my patients in medicine exists in my own art of merging my objective understanding of my patients’ medical conditions with the unique realities of their lives.

[​IMG]