centered image

The Work Of An Emergency Department Nurse Through The Eyes Of A Medical Student

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 7, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Each time I am in the emergency department (ED) as a medical student, I meet new members of the health care team that make superior patient care possible. I have quickly developed a greater appreciation for the fact that no medical professional works in an isolated bubble. The strengths that each other bring to the table are paramount to the flow of patient progress. Before my time as a medical student in the ED, I did not know exactly what the jobs of each type of provider in the ED entailed. However, understanding the scopes of practice of each profession is integral to thoroughly understanding the patient care setting, and on one day in the ED, I stepped outside of the typical role of the second-year medical student to work closely with a nurse to better understand the vital role of nurses not only in the ED, but across all specialties.