centered image

The World According To Steinbeck

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jan 15, 2022.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

So I am on the road again — sort of. What I do is work away from home, which isn’t quite the same thing. Where I work as a radiologist is not within commuting distance, so I stay at a nearby hotel. In general, that has worked out fairly well.

Not long ago, however, when I went to start the car after breakfast, I became immediately aware of a roaring sound.

The sound seemed to be coming immediately beneath me, and I was initially mystified. I didn’t have a lot of time to cogitate, however, as I needed to be at work soon. So, with some trepidation, I gingerly moved the car onto the road, hoping I could make it to my destination. Fortunately, I did.

The town in question is not familiar to me. It’s about 90 miles from where I live.

I mused: What could have happened? The car was fine the day before. I didn’t bump anything with force when I parked.

[​IMG]

Then, gradually, thoughts — some bad — entered my mind.

What if someone had stolen my catalytic converter? I happen to drive a car which is stolen frequently, and not only for parts but sometimes that, too. Having had the car stolen once at work, from a hospital parking lot no less, at the end of 2017, I was keenly aware of this.

One can probably safely drive without a catalytic converter for a while, but what about getting the car smogged? That would be problematic. And what about the risk of being ticketed for lacking a catalytic converter? I definitely had more questions than answers.

After work, I drove to an auto store. The employee looked under the car. “You’ve still got your catalytic converter,” he said. “But you’ve got an exhaust leak. Get it checked.”