centered image

centered image

The Worst Mistake Students Make with First Aid for the USMLE Step 1

Discussion in 'USMLE' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jan 20, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

IS YOUR STRATEGY WRONG? (AND HOW I SCORED 270 ON STEP 1 BY IGNORING THE DOGMA)

[​IMG]

ROCK MICROBIOLOGY, even if you SUCK AT MEMORIZING!

Virtually every medical student who has prepared for Step 1, Step 2 CK, or Step 3 has used USMLE World. “UWorld” (or just “UW”) is held in near-religious reverence for its questions that match the USMLE Step exams’ two-step reasoning process, with explanations that bring medical students to tears of joy and have cured several forms of cancer.

I jest, but when I was a preclinical medical student at Stanford nervously anticipating my USMLE Step 1, I bought everything I was told. “Everyone” knew that all you had to do to destroy Step 1 was to read First Aid five times, and do USMLE World at least twice (and review your wrong answers another couple times for good measure). Then and only then were you ready to brave the rite-of-passage exam.

So why did I ignore this advice? And what did I do to eventually boost my score to 270?

[​IMG]

Here I deconstruct several of the most common beliefs surrounding the USMLE World Question Bank, and see whether they withstand rational scrutiny. Know that as much as the “common knowledge” surrounding USMLE World is opinion, this is also my opinion, based on my experiences preparing for Step 1/Step 2 CK, as well as having tutored students for the USMLE Step and Shelf exams.