centered image

There Has Never Been A Greater Need For Telemedicine Than Now

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 17, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

I left the U.S. just in time. During my vacation in Australia, I was relieved I would dodge some of the angst and uncertainty in the midst of the COVID-19 epidemic. As it turns out, even this getaway on the opposite side of the world was no escape. Within the span of a day, the markets dropped 10 percent, the remainder of the NBA season was canceled, and the world found out through Twitter that Tom Hanks had been diagnosed with COVID-19 in Australia.

I am a telemedicine physician on the frontlines fielding questions about coronavirus. Virtual Care is hands-down the best way to access care for an illness requiring “social distancing” as part of the treatment plan. During this crisis, travel of any kind can be dangerous, and even visiting a doctor’s office can be risky. There has never been a greater need for telemedicine than now.

My day of medical consults is typically filled with a variety of situations:
    • A woman who just switched insurances and needs a refill of her blood pressure medication while waiting to see her new PCP.
    • A man who found out that his partner was diagnosed with an STD, inquiring about the next steps.
    • A patient with a painful rash who attached a photo of shingles, and can proceed straight to the pharmacy to pick up her medication.
    Today, however, the variety was lost. All 25 patients had cough, fever, travel risk, or exposure to someone confirmed for COVID-19. The last patient listed “eye pain” as his complaint. I was excited to break the streak. However, the patient had clicked on the wrong symptom and, in fact, wanted to discuss his cough!