centered image

There Needs To Be A Better Approach To Victims Of Sexual Violence

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 21, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am a nurse who has worked at a rural hospital. My husband is a board-certified family medicine doctor. In the fall of 2020, I was raped by my massage therapist. I know that everyone has an opinion of what they would do in that situation, and I was probably one of those people. However, to my complete shock (quite literally), I didn’t behave in any manner that I would have thought. Much to my embarrassment, I was a nurse who had no idea what to do when I was raped on top of the previously mentioned humiliation.

In all the shock, I made one goal: Go to a doctor. So, I called my primary care provider. The person who answered the phone was unusually loud over the phone. After asking what my reason for the visit was, I paused. I could not answer, so she told me that my provider had no appointments that day anyway.

“Do you need the family medicine clinic, or is this urgent?” I honestly had no clue.

“Do you want to see a different provider?”

“I need to see a female” was all that I could manage to get out, hoping that she would take the hint.

She didn’t. At all. She was starting to sound annoyed.

I just hung up. I couldn’t bear any more loud questions with a tone of annoyance.

So, I went to the next female provider that I could think of my OB/GYN. The number of people I had to tell what happened on the way to the room was overwhelming. My OB/GYN finally came in and asked what happened. She stopped me one sentence in. She asked if I was going to tell my husband (who she knew).

I said, “No, I don’t want him to go to jail for killing someone who did this to me.”

“Are you going to report it?”

“No.”

Note: It was not even 24 hours after the fact, and I am learning that rape trauma syndrome is a very real phenomenon.