centered image

Thinking of Starting a Cash-Based Practice? Here are The Pros and Cons.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Mar 26, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

bbcae6a2b2645a2e9ccfb32f7ec51e2f.jpg

As an integrative medicine physician, I am often questioned about what I do and how I decided to diverge from the normalcy of allopathic medicine. I usually go into a short spiel about my love for thinking outside the box and creating solutions for patients that seek a kinder, gentler style of medicine; one that blends effective healing modalities from all over the globe with my traditional allopathic training.

Most people enjoy this explanation and inquire more into my practice. Others shy away. But the most frequent question I get after this explanation is if I take insurance in practice. The answer is a resounding “no.”

Do I not take insurance because I’m a mean and vengeful physician? As it is, families pay an exorbitant amount of money for health insurance with the added load of high deductibles straining their budgets.

I get this as, I too, am a consumer of health insurance and know first hand that it is not cheap!

However, what the masses may not understand about being a physician is the hefty price doctors who take insurance pay.

Through research, we have learned that approximately 50 percent of physicians feel distraught or distressed at work on a regular basis and many others have left medicine for other careers, or even worse, committed suicide. Others have opted out of insurance by converting to concierge medicine or direct primary care (DPC) clinics.

Could the doctors leaving the insurance-based system possibly be standing up for themselves and their profession by not taking insurance? I argue yes!

Here’s how: