centered image

centered image

This Doctor Sings To Her Patients. And The Results Are Beautiful.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Aug 22, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

I am an interventional pain physician. I spend most of my days doing spine injections with a fair amount of kyphoplasties and spinal cord stimulators thrown in as well. It seems to me that these are minor procedures that shouldn’t evoke anxiety in patients, but they do. Patients get nervous. They get anxious.

I am also a singer. I had the privilege of being classically trained through my college years. Like so many other passions, singing was put on the back burner in my pursuit of medicine. Music is a blessing that I hold dear to my heart, and it has pained me to not have an outlet for this gift.

When I got out of fellowship and started in private practice, I began to occasionally hum some tunes as I was doing injections. That hum naturally turned into singing. Over a short amount of time, I found myself singing during each and every procedure all day long. I sing hymns usually with some Italian opera and show tunes thrown in. Most of my patients are over 65, and they seem to enjoy those genres. For my younger patients, I add some Adele and even some Disturbed as indicated.