centered image

this is Why I love being a GP

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hala, Nov 3, 2014.

1. Hala

Hala Golden Member Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

I’m only a trainee GP, but I’m almost there with just 10 months to go until I fly solo. Sometimes it’s difficult to stay positive in the face of endless negative press about the failings of general practitioners and the NHS, and I won’t deny that there have been times when I have questioned my career choice, both as a GP and as a doctor. But these gloomy thoughts soon pale into insignificance after just one morning surgery at my practice.

It’s easy to sympathise with GPs reporting burnout; there are bottomless piles of paperwork and long hours with shifts that never seem to be over as you take the concerns of the day back to your home and partner, then to your bed. Not to mention the reports of privatisation and destruction of the NHS, patients being unable to access vital services and practice closures due to unsustainable costs and NHS cuts.

It can be difficult to balance these seemingly terminal issues with those of job satisfaction and contentedness. I have been seriously close to burnout myself. But then I’m reminded of why I spent eight years at university, costing £60,000 and continued into another seven years of training; and this realisation all occurs within the confines of a small consulting room and a four-hour morning surgery.

Every doctor enjoys a complex, taxing case that tests your knowledge and keeps you on your toes. And maybe this is what keeps things fresh when facing the mundanity of everyday life and the daily commute. But in an environment where GPs are becoming disempowered and deskilled, for me the joy is in the simplicity of the conversation and interactions that general practice offers.