centered image

This Physician Is Burned Out. But Not For The Reason You Think.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Dec 17, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

I am an Olympian. I am a retired All-American student-athlete. I am a resident. I am burned out.

Let me be clear: I love medicine and the opportunity to have privileged relationships with patients and their families. I thrive on the fast-paced environment, growing to-do lists, and the chance to work in a field with endless learning. I love working in team environments to provide optimal care for patients and their families. The most rewarding point in residency training has been the transition to a senior resident where I can create positive learning environments for other learners. Practicing medicine is an extremely fulfilling career that I am very fortunate to have pursued, and I will never regret that choice.

The demands of patient care and the number of hours residents work is not the primary reason for my burnout.

I am burned out because of all of the mixed messages I’m receiving as a medical learner.