centered image

centered image

This Physician Is Done With Being Silent About Women’s Rights

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Apr 3, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

When I was a 13-year-old freshman in high school, I joined the basketball team. I had always stood out, which I tried to convince myself was a great trait that made me unique and an individual.

However, when I played sports, I felt alive. I had a coach that year who was a nerdy middle-aged man. During long bus rides, he would call me to the front of the bus to sit with him. He would sit and rub my legs during the trips. The girls on the team said little, but one of my girlfriends would make fun of me for being the favorite.

As I got older, I started to become more involved in politics. At 17, I joined a club and raised money to go to Washington D.C. to learn about creating policy. I was able to walk the halls of the capitol and legislative buildings.
    [​IMG]

We took tours, talked to members of Congress, and learned about leadership challenges. During one of our meet-and-greets, we walked into this large office. I looked at the plaque on the door before walking in: a prominent U.S. senator. Our group took turns assembling for pictures, and I stood next to him for a quick photo. I felt his hand grab my waist tight to his body and then felt his hand grab my butt.

I was irritated that no one cared about what men did. I immediately checked myself in the mirror. Almost instinctively, I realized if I said anything, I wouldn’t be believed, and in fact, would be blamed. I was wearing business attire, my shirt buttoned to my neck, I wasn’t wearing makeup, and my hair was down. I was making an attempt to blend in with the crowd.