centered image

centered image

This Surgeon Loves Her Job. But It’s Killing Her.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, May 26, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

What do you do when you love your job, but it’s killing you?

That’s an easy question if it’s asked by someone else. It’s a hard question when you’re asking it of yourself. As a physician, I give advice to people all the time — other people. If you have diabetes, control your diet. If you are obese, then lose weight and exercise. If you have COPD, then you better not continue smoking. Common problems. Obvious solutions.

What if burnout is your problem? When your cell phone rings, you get tachycardia wondering what catastrophe awaits you. You work 80 hour weeks and have no time to recuperate between catastrophes. When you’re not working, your mind is still there, wondering what you could have done differently; feeling responsible for any bad outcome; feeling thankful and lucky (more relieved than proud) of any good ones. Even when you’re not at work, your mind is.

What about your own health? Preventative and health maintenance factors including diet, exercise, and stress reduction are put low in our own priorities. There’s just not enough time for these. And, there’s a stigma attached to looking after ourselves. We work sick and injured. We go for long periods without eating and then binge on unhealthy foods. We barely stop to chew. Does running from one catastrophe to the next constitute exercise? Those physicians that do exercise often become intense and competitive about it. What happened to the moderation we recommend to our patients?