centered image

Those Who Try To Solve Health Care Don’t Know The Reality On The Ground

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, May 31, 2018.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Because I wrote my book, I was recently asked to summarize the health care crisis. I have focused almost 25 years of research and writing about health care on what is happening on the ground, every day, with doctors and patients. I’m not an economist or financing expert or technology geek, so I can’t offer anything there. I am a practicing psychologist with advanced training in health care research and policy. In my opinion, what is missing from the national conversation is a combination of avenues of inquiry which would offer a unique perspective integrating research and policy with what is actually happening on the ground with health care.

[​IMG]

Health care in our country is deathly ill. We spend too much money for inferior health care. The destruction of the doctor-patient relationship, combined with restricted access and resulting declining quality of care are some of the most visible symptoms of the crisis. The root is the insurance companies, which are gigantic profit making benefit denying behemoths. And yes, of course, some problems are not caused by the insurance companies, but this is not a reason for deflecting blame from them.