centered image

Tragic Optimism In The Time Of COVID-19

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, May 23, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Whispers of fluctuating rumors had filled our ears for the last week; group messages were exploding with controversy — the invisible threat, COVID-19, had reached the Texas Medical Center. All meetings for over 25 people were canceled, effective immediately. Suddenly, during the season when as a third-year medical student, I was supposed to be rotating through clinical electives, learning how to become the pediatrician I always dreamed of being, all medical students were removed from clinical duties.

As the gravity of the COVID-19 pandemic unfolded, my preoccupation rapidly shifted from the disruption that it caused in my daily life to the devastation that it was causing my community. Not only were COVID-19 patients filling ICU’s around the country, but the pandemic was also collapsing the economy and leaving numerous people without income — including my family, who rely on the business of spring wildflower tourists at their retail stores in rural Texas.

During a phone call with my mom, she mentioned how while seeking hope, she had started rereading Man’s Search for Meaning by Dr. Victor Frankl, a book that I had read during my freshman year of college. The worn pages of the library copy had inspired me to explore my purpose and to continue my pursuit of medicine despite the challenges of becoming a first-generation graduate student. Frankl introduces the idea of “Tragic Optimism,” challenging humanity to take circumstances encompassed by the “tragic triad” of pain, guilt, and death and use our human potential to find optimism through “1. turning suffering into a human achievement and accomplishment; 2. deriving from guilt the opportunity to change oneself for the better; and, 3. deriving from life’s transitoriness an incentive to take responsible action.”