centered image

Trump’s Immigration Order Could Stop Medical Careers Before They Begin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

1945031dca788bdd4e4bb96a7251c93e.jpg

On Friday evening, President Donald Trump signed an executive order halting immigration from Syria, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen. It’s a reckless order that has sweeping implications for the medical community and its future generations.

In March, medical students and graduates of foreign medical schools will learn if they matched with a residency program and can pursue their medical careers. With Trump’s executive order come concerns that applicants from those seven countries will be disregarded because of questions over whether they’ll be able to enter and stay in the United States. The order could easily end medical careers in America before they begin.

I’m a first-year resident at Cambridge Health Alliance, so I remember distinctly the difficulties and anxieties of applying for a residency. For a woman I know here in the Boston area, the executive order has added an extra layer of stress to an already stressful situation.

She is a young doctor from Iran who has had several interviews all over the US. She is worried that her application will be disregarded if a program director thinks that she won’t be able to get back into the US if she goes home. She’s just applied for a visa renewal and worries that a hospital won’t take a chance on her, even though she is well-qualified.

A program in Ohio has already made such decisions.

“It’s very unfair,” she said. The woman asked not to be named out of fear for her placement. “We may not have a chance to get into residency because of this law.”