centered image

We Treat Self-Sacrifice As A Currency In Medicine

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 5, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

The world of COVID-19 has two poles: the frontline workers bravely putting themselves at risk for the greater good, exiled to tents in their backyards to protect their families – and the rest of humanity, asked to do its part by staying home.

As a medical student, I have felt somewhat untethered – aligned in training and identity with the former, but relegated to the latter out of necessity. I have felt shame that I am not one of the people putting my life on the line to combat this pandemic. This feeling has caused me to reflect on what gives us value as physicians and health care providers, and the more I have thought about it, the more I have come to the sad realization that we treat self-sacrifice as a currency in medicine. This is not a new phenomenon, but one that has reared its head in my thoughts recently.

At the beginning of the third year, you receive the following advice no less than ten times: Be the first one to get there in the morning, and the last one to leave. Early in training, medicine becomes a performance, one where the prize is awarded to the one who may lose the most. Want to be the best surgeon? Never say no to a case that rolls in at 7 p.m., even if you don’t see your kid for the 4th time this week. What about intern of the year? Tell your friends with pride that you stayed at the hospital until 10 p.m. every night, finishing charting while your spouse ate yet another dinner alone.