centered image

centered image

What a Burned Out Physician Looks Like Will Surprise You

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Feb 17, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

c3f0da04b07043556cedeb36a97b186d.png

I was very saddened to learn this past week of another physician who died by suicide. This, the untimely death of a young and brilliant mother of two, is a horrifying tragedy.

I do not write this to pretend I know anything about this recent tragedy. I write this as a sort of case report on myself. I was an at risk physician at one point.

I’ll start where the problems most obviously began. For me, that was progressing through a highly competitive residency in a surgery subspecialty.

As I entered the final leg of my residency training, I became one of the few seniors in a very small program. I was on call at least every 1 in 3 days for my final years. There were scheduled cases, conferences, supervising juniors, rounding, research, labs, and significant administrative work. I found myself with less and less personal time. I fell out of touch with family and friends. I was disappearing.

Burnout is described as being insidious, and it definitely was for me. I also believe that is a reason why the physician and also the people around him or her are not alerted to new changes. The loss of control over my life and schedule was becoming increasingly frustrating. I was a multifaceted person at one time.

Now, I was only really a surgeon. I felt alone. I talked to a few physician friends who felt similarly. After a while the talk gets old. I didn’t want to burden others or seem ungrateful for what I had.