centered image

What Ever Happened To Forgiveness?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jul 3, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

“I used to shoot people like you,” the patient said to me.

He was one scary Vietnam vet, and I was one scared second-year resident. Though not Vietnamese, I figured correcting him wouldn’t matter. As an Asian American (Chinese on my dad’s side, Japanese on my mom’s), I’d experienced racism and bigotry before, and from different races, not just white. Even as a doctor, I understood I ‘d still encounter it. In this particular incident, I didn’t get angry or refuse to see him, but instead, after a bit of give and take, I found common ground, dealing with bigotry through an empathic approach, so to speak. This was quite effective, transforming a potentially volatile situation to advantage, and changing an enemy into an ally.

So when I see the response to racism in our current times—tearing down statues of historical figures, vandalizing monuments reflecting our past, fear of retribution for expressing a counter-opinion—I want to cry. When will it end? People destroying things offensive to them is little different than book-burning by tyrannical governments. It’s as if they want to erase certain parts of history. Yet the importance of history is to learn something from it, not eradicate it, no matter how disagreeable some parts may be. “The farther back you look, the farther forward you will see,” Churchill once said. And if we don’t keep a knowledge of the past, we are bound to repeat it, particularly the bad parts of it. Some people fail to see this.

History reveals that while atrocities have occurred, oftentimes something profoundly beneficial arises. But all of this requires a retrospective look in a calm manner. To erase the bad elements of the past is to virtually erase most of any history of ANY culture and of ANY race.