centered image

What Is The Harsh Truth About Being A Doctor And Medical School Student?

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Hadeel Abdelkariem, Apr 28, 2019.

1. Hadeel Abdelkariem

Hadeel Abdelkariem Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

This opens a rather large can of worms in the United States. About 40–50% of physicians will tell you that we would never choose medicine again. Let me explain why.

[​IMG]

- The pay/reimbursement/employment has changed over the last 10 years. Now we are reimbursed less than the previous generation of doctors. This may not seem like it is important, however, I graduated from a state medical school with $284,000 in student loans (I payed in-state tuition). With interest accrued through residency and fellowship my total is now $615,000 and my monthly payments are over $5000. Yes, physicians are well paid. However, we have not been able to save money during medical school (4 years) or residency (2–6 years) or fellowship (1–3 years). This means we do not start a nest egg or 401K until we start to practice. For me, I was in my mid 30s when that finally happened (I graduated med school in 2011). You will only make $48,000-$60, 000 during your residency and only about $62,000 in fellowship. You will likely not be able to pay off all of your interest during this time, so you will be in the same boat as most of us are, unless your family was able to pay for your medical school. (Note: I had no debt from undergrad or graduate school. This is *all* from medical school.)