centered image

What Would You Do If You Won The Lottery? Here’s One Physician’s Plan.

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jan 2, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

[​IMG]

Yup, I won the lottery! $785 million dollars. Pinch me because I must be dreaming. I am a physician finance blogger; I would not recommend buying a lottery ticket. But I did. So screw all the people who said it was a waste of $2.

So here I am, the big time winner: What to do now? Well, that is what this post is about.

(In reality, I did not win the lottery. I am still slaving away at a day job; but a person can dream, can’t they?)

Step 1: Sign the back of the ticket and put it somewhere safe

I do not want to lose this gravy train. That would be tragic. Money I had not earned vanishing and leaving me just as poor today as I was yesterday.

Step 2: Consider talking to a lawyer to set up a revocable living trust that will accept the prize money.

I want to keep anonymity in my big win. I don’t want to become a celebrity and target of scammers as is oh too common. So how can I keep my anonymity? Well, a trust may help, and if set up right, I can still have full control of the cash. Sure I have already set up a trust, but now that I am super loaded I want to just get a little lawyer backup.

Step 3: Claim prize in an anonymous fashion into the trust

Step 4: Quit my job

I am not a saint. Happily, I will quit my current life in clinical practice if I won the big bucks. I figure if I took a year off and really missed it then I could go and work for a not for profit caring for uninsured or underinsured patients.

I would not leave my job the next day. As a department of six cardiologists, my sudden departure would greatly impact my colleagues. So I would give my notice and let my boss know I would stick around until a new person was hired and started. That way, my departure would be less painful for my colleagues.