centered image

When A Patient Planned To Kill A Social Worker

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Mar 1, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

It all began on Valentine’s Day when I arrived at my office and listened to my messages from the afternoon before. There was only one from a nurse at the state mental hospital. She had just seen, she said, a Mr. Lonnie M. and was calling to alert me (there is a law to this effect) that Lonnie had expressed very hostile feelings toward me, quite specific in nature.

He planned to kill me, she said — to cut my throat, and then kill himself.

He would do this, she went on, as I left my place of employment or my home. This after his hospital release, of course, which I expected would happen any day now.

I work as a case manager with a mental health facility. Our agency works with severely and permanently mentally ill adults. There are a lot of them, too.

I regularly go to some pretty terrible places in this urban setting. They are slums of one sort or another, some of them housing projects, high rise buildings with rickety elevators that lurch and clang and make you wonder what the hell you’re doing there as the equipment carries you to the 16th floor of some tall building, there to look in on some poor soul living in squalor. Often he or she doesn’t know if he (or she) is on foot or horseback. It is sometimes very sad.

Lonnie is about 45 years old, kind of stocky in build but not fat, and with a very round face. Because of the severity of his mental illness, I am involved in a big way in his life. The same is true with many of the people I work with.