centered image

When COVID Hits Memory Care

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jun 19, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

“Have you ever been on a cruise?” Betty asks.

It’s a strange question in the age of COVID-19, where thousands of people have been stranded on large ships over the past few months. I’m a wound physician who rounds at nursing homes, and my gloved hand holds her warm, wrinkled foot. I’m looking at a wound on her ankle that is almost healed.

“I went on a cruise before, but it was a long time ago.” I try to speak loudly through my N95 mask.

Betty goes on. “Well, this is my first cruise, and I just love it,” she says, shaking her gray frizzled curls about her shoulders. I look up at her and smile. I’m in the memory care unit.

Since COVID hit, I’ve noticed that memory care is impossible in the pandemic. There are people who wander due to their Alzheimer’s disease. They silently pace along the wall in a loop around the unit, or into an opening that is sometimes the doorway to another resident’s room. I often find one woman who drifts through the hallways roaming into the nurse manager’s office. This woman lovingly gives the resident some conversation, leaving the emails she was answering.

I enter a memory care unit, and one of the nurses informs me that the resident I’m there to see is isolated and on droplet precautions for being exposed to a home health nurse with COVID. I must wear full PPE. As I head toward the woman’s room, I instead find her in the hallway with other residents.

“We do our best,” says the closest staff member, and they do.