centered image

When Mistakes Make Us Better

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jun 5, 2019.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Sometimes failure leads to success

[​IMG]

My mother recently had a pacemaker inserted to help stabilize her heart rate. As an oculoplastic surgeon, my cardiology knowledge is, shall we say, limited. So, of course, I turned to "Dr. Google" to learn more about pacemakers and the procedure. Imagine my surprise to discover that the pacemaker was invented purely by accident in the 1950s. Wilson Greatbatch was an inventor who was building an oscillator and reached for the wrong part. After his gadget was assembled, he noticed that it emitted an electrical pulse. Two years later, an implantable pacemaker replaced the former apparatus that was as big as a TV and gave people a harsh shock when they were out of rhythm.

The road to success often begins with failure and, it could be argued that we only improve when we work through challenges. I'm sure you've known people who seemed to waltz through their medical training and then cratered as they entered their practice. And perhaps you've seen others who struggled like lobsters crawling out of a lobster pot for years who then plopped into their medical practice with more success than one could imagine.

What is the difference between those who rise above failure and those who don't? Well, if I could totally answer that question, then I would be the perfect admissions officer for all medical schools and residencies, and perhaps even help in guidance for some political offices. I think one of the key factors is to acknowledge and allow for failure as an acceptable part of life.