centered image

When Your Institution Has A Less Than 1% Hiring Rate For Black Residents

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mahmoud Abudeif, Dec 30, 2020.

1. Mahmoud Abudeif

Mahmoud Abudeif Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

The other day I was in the main hallway outside of our radiology reading rooms, which is lined with picture frames of all the residency senior classes dating back to the 1980s. I’m new to the institution, so it was nice to see all the prior residents. I found myself wondering what they were up to now after graduating and what fellowship or jobs they landed into. As I kept going back in time, something became glaringly alarming. I kept going back, the year before, 3 years before, 9 years before, 15 years before.

Where were all the Black residents?

I walked further down the hall back to 30 years and was able to find one Black resident in 2012. One. In thirty years. That meant out of 174 residents, we had a hiring rate of only 0.6% for Black residents.

I then went back to my reading station and went down a rabbit hole to find any Black or African American residents in any current program at our institution. I managed to find a handful across 10 different residencies at my major academic center before my studies list became too abysmal to ignore. Of course, just like the radiology residency photos, I could only quickly judge based on photos alone and that there were probably more Black residents or ones that may have been mixed race. But it was blatantly obvious that Black residents were rather few and far between compared to our residents’ other ethnic makeup.

[​IMG]

Later that day, I brought it up to my husband, a hospitalist working at the same hospital. He was also appalled when he recently realized the same thing. Of the close to 80 residents in Internal Medicine, they also had very few Black residents.