centered image

Why I Feel Grateful To Be A Physician Today

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Apr 24, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

Doctors today can help more people, and prevent the spread of disease more effectively through communication, than we ever could by seeing patients one-at-a-time in person. I have realized that instant human connection through technology makes us more powerful and faster than a virus.

I began my career as a physician in the pre-iPhone era. The only way for the sick to seek medical advice was to crowd into places where doctors were kept behind many closed doors. This was true during Swine Flu. As a young doctor, I managed throngs of mildly ill, and asymptomatic-worried mixing in the lobbies of urgent care and emergency facilities seeking tests, treatment, and reassurance. I was sure that many who walked in without the flu, probably walked out with it.

Now a mid-career physician in another global pandemic, I can provide reassurance, fulfillment, and ongoing care without a medical facility involved at all, keeping both the sick and the worried from what ten years ago was a necessary and dangerous social mixing in the only place they could possibly see me.

In the month of March, I logged 134 chat-first telehealth hours. On one eight-hour shift, I helped 55 patients who were either worried that they had symptoms of coronavirus, knew they had COVID-19, or were concerned about risking exposure if they sought in-person medical care for an unrelated matter. To put that into perspective, during a typical eight-hour shift in the ER, I am able to see only 16 to 20 patients.

Epidemics and pandemics existed in previous centuries, but back then, viruses spread far faster than the rate of information or the capacity of physicians to help people. Not today.