centered image

Why It’s So Important To Look At The Big Picture

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by In Love With Medicine, Jul 11, 2020.

1. In Love With Medicine

In Love With Medicine Golden Member

[​IMG]

One of the last things my dad said to me before he passed was, “remember to always look at the big picture.” He said this many times throughout my childhood and teenage years, but it never quite resonated until I was thinking about it in retrospect.

As I near the end of my intern year, my dad’s words hold true. As an emergency medicine resident, I am often running on adrenaline. I take care of sick people and not-so-sick people. I see kids, adults, senior citizens, men, women, LGBTQ, immigrants, drug addicts, alcoholics, nomads, prisoners, and psychopaths, to name a few. They all have different needs. I am quick to act and react. I triage, and I fix things. That is what I am trained to do.

It is reflexive to categorize in emergency medicine. If a patient comes in with chest pain, we ask the same questions, perform our standard physical exam, and run through the list of possible deadly diagnoses in our head. We order the “chest pain labs” and treat the symptoms, risk-stratify, and predict the most likely outcome of the ER visit. A few clicks and we are moving onto the next patient. It is mechanical and monotonous.

This is the easy part.

What we often forget is that most people come to the ER because they are scared. We do anyone a disservice if we do not feel their concerns as our own. We are so quick to work-up a chief complaint, categorize, and act, that we forget to ask, “How can I help you today?” I think we would be surprised how many times our own perceived goals misalign with the patients’.