centered image

Why The Medical Profession Should Give People With Criminal Records A Second Chance

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Nov 29, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am a board-certified osteopathic family physician who worked most of my career as a hospitalist. I am thankful to my university, family medicine program, and the state boards for being open-minded and future-minded and admitting and licensing me, respectively.

I was arrested and convicted of multiple counts of trafficking and abusing cannabis and MDMA (including using minors as agents in their sales) and multiple arrests for driving on suspended and expired licenses (which got suspended due to my drug issues). I know that is a mouth full, but please don’t take it out of context. I was very young and immature when I did these crimes.

I continued to mature through medical school and residency. I put in a lot of extra effort in studying question banks and eventually passed all three Complex exams. I even became a chief resident during my residency and recruited a lot of medical students to our residency program without discriminating against them based on age/nontraditional status, board scores or number of attempts, and most importantly, mental illness and drug-related criminal histories.

[​IMG]

I cannot tell you how much I thank the medical profession for giving me a second chance, and I strongly encourage the medical profession to give others a second chance too.

You may ask why the medical profession should give people with criminal records a second chance.

First, many offenders are young and immature, and with time, they will change. Moreover, the process of dealing with the legal system itself can serve as a turning point.