centered image

centered image

Why The Name “Emergency Medicine” Is No Longer Adequate: A Call For Change

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 12, 2023.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

I am an emergency physician in training. It’s a thrilling and rewarding job learning to treat the severely ill and injured. But it is also a rare clinical shift when I don’t treat patients with life-limiting alcohol and drug addiction, people struggling with homelessness, those whose behavior does not allow them to safely be in a shelter with others, undocumented immigrants with nowhere else to turn for aid, uninsured patients who cannot receive outpatient care or children and adults with acute psychiatric emergencies. Treating these types of patients in the emergency department results from our current health care “system,” driven by for-profit insurance companies, reimbursement disincentives, and current state and federal legislation.

After many years of ever-widening clinical practice, the term “emergency medicine” has become inadequate to describe our specialty. I propose changing the name to one that better reflects the daily reality in American emergency departments: safety net care & emergency medicine. Though in some sense still lacking, this name better encompasses the care we provide–to both those who are socially most vulnerable and those who emergently seek care on their most vulnerable day.

[​IMG]

But what’s in a name? A change in nomenclature would help force our specialty and the health care system around us to address the failings that have led to our current state.