centered image

Why This Physician Became A Personal Trainer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Sep 26, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

As many readers of my work know, I have a huge passion for preventive medicine, and balance my acute care hospital work with an outpatient wellness clinic. I have always been into exercise and outdoor activities since a young age but only became a regular gym-goer after I finished my medical residency training. I also became very keen on learning more about healthier nutrition habits. I don’t think I was as into this as I should have been when I was a medical student and the immediate few years afterwards, and my BMI and other lifestyle habits were heading in the wrong direction. My energy levels were also not where I wanted. As I dived into this whole area, I decided to write about it—and it was the subject of my first book, High Percentage Wellness Steps. The premise of the book was that everyday natural steps yield much better health results, when one looks at the research, than most medicines and treatments. From increasing your daily fiber and anti-oxidant intake, to getting outdoors and trying to adopt a more positive mindset: The evidence is overwhelming. If the ultimate goal of life is to be healthy and happy, then it has to start with our own habits and mindset.

[​IMG]