centered image

Why This Physician Cannot Be Her Family’s Doctor

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Jan 28, 2017.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

9838529859d760b839546ed2b3d0c200.jpg

The day I got into medical school, my uncle said to me, “You are going to be a doctor! We finally have a doctor in the family. You are going to take care of your uncle in his old age.” Other family members echoed the same sentiment. First doctor in the family. Now, we will all have free medical advice.

As I progressed through medical school, then internship and residency, then finally to being an adult hospitalist, I often received questions from my family.

What’s this rash? Why does it hurt when I urinate? Is it bad to have blood in my stool? Even one night after my mom finished watching a medical drama, “Karen, what is the sepsis?” They seemed to think I was an expert in every medical specialty. I answered their questions as patiently as I could but always feeling slightly uneasy. Even with conditions I commonly treated and counseled patients on, I always felt a bit hesitant when a family member asked me. Somehow, the stakes were higher with a family member. Perhaps it was because I was afraid my answer would be wrong and I could potentially harm them. Perhaps I wanted to remain standing on that medical pedestal of knowledge they had placed me on. I was not sure.

I knew other doctors who had no reservations whatsoever treating their family members. Writing prescriptions for that antibiotic. Ordering that chest X-ray. Reading their family members charts. One colleague even told me she had been acting as her parents’ personal physician for years, managing every infection, every hyperglycemic and congestive heart failure episode.