centered image

Why This Plastic Surgeon Closed His Practice To Become A High School Science Teacher

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Dec 5, 2020.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Imagine turning off your pager forever. If you are a solo-practitioner on call 24 hours a day, I suspect this thought has crossed your mind. Coordinating time off for vacation, being constantly interrupted at your children’s recital or athletic event, and even making it home to prepare dinner represent common challenges in this setting. A particular obstacle as a solo-practitioner involves the difficulty of running a small business – a topic ignored during medical training. During my 17-year tenure as a hand surgeon, I rented a small office and had only two employees. Because of the low budget business plan, I acted as the office manager. Therefore, I ordered the supplies, paid the bills and payroll taxes, posted my OR cases, did the pre-operative paperwork, coded the visits and procedures, acted as the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act officer, did the paperwork and submissions for the Merit-based Incentive Payment System, submitted the pension plan contributions, was the IT manager, and more. The work involved with these non-patient care activities increased exponentially during my time practicing medicine secondary to escalating onerous federal rules and regulations.

[​IMG]