centered image

centered image

Why Women Physicians Need To Talk About Money

Discussion in 'Hospital' started by The Good Doctor, Jun 22, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

Doximity released their 2020 physician compensation report; there are 2 parts of the gender pay gap that I see first hand and am still shocked by every single time I help female physicians negotiate their contracts. These statements have not changed for years.

They are:

1. This year’s data found that the wage gap between male and female physicians was 28 percent, with male doctors earning over $116,000 more annually than their female counterparts.

2. When examining the gender wage gap by specialty, the data showed no medical specialties in which women earned the same or more than men in 2020.

I have been practicing medicine for over 10 years.

[​IMG]

Over the past decade, I have worked with:
    • 16 locums companies
    • 17 hospitals
    • 8 telemedicine companies
    • negotiated 80+ contracts on behalf of physicians and myself
    One of the main things I’ve learned through this whole process; doctors need to make more money (and talk about how much they are making).

I started navigating the locums world before it was the cool thing to do (10 years ago). I come from a long lineage of entrepreneurs and learned how to negotiate early in my life. Even though I knew the basics, going through the medical system, I realized we are groomed to believe we should only get what is offered to us in an initial contract. Doing so makes us barely able to pay our debt before retirement. That is when I realized that I was one of few willing to negotiate all terms of every contract I was presented with. I also realized that doctors don’t like talking about money.