centered image

Why Would Someone Choose To Become A Medical Doctor?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Nov 27, 2018.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

This question was originally posted on Quora.com and was answered by David Chan, MD from UCLA, Stanford Oncology Fellowship

[​IMG]

If you look at the economics of being a doctor, it doesn't make much sense.

I get asked this question a lot: "If you knew what you know now, would you have done it again?"

My answer is an easy and quick yes.

I didn't go into medicine to make money. I didn't set out to become a doctor when I was an undergrad and even when I was filing out applications I wasn't sure. After I was accepted to medical schools, I thought long and hard before I made the decision to go.

Despite all my ambivalence in deciding, I have simply loved almost every part of medical school, residency, my fellowship at Stanford in oncology was great, and my teaching and patient care.

I had a great time in internship and was very happy being on call and working 36 hours every 3rd day on call and 12 hours a day on my non-call days. I think that I had one weekend day off once a month.

I learned a shitload of stuff. I made great lifelong friends with the nurses and doctors and I worked with.

And this happened:

[​IMG]

You know what this is. It's an exponential curve.

It represents the growth of my medical ability and illustrates what happened during my post MD training. It took me 4 years of medical school to get to the left side of the curve just in terms of learning the basic fundamentals and language of medicine. And then 6 years of post medical school training to turn me into a doctor that takes care of patients who have cancer, an oncologist.

Should you go to medical school?

From the standpoint of economics, it didn't make sense for me and it doesn't make sense for you.