centered image

Women In Medicine Need To Have Each Others’ Backs. Too Often, They Don’t.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by The Good Doctor, Feb 14, 2021.

1. The Good Doctor

The Good Doctor Golden Member

The recent controversy and backlash surrounding Kamala Harris’s Vogue cover shows that it is still fashionable to diminish powerful women. It also is the latest example of the sad fact that no matter how far we have come, women are still held to a different standard—by both men and women.

As a female vascular surgeon, I have spent my career pushing back on ideas about what a woman should be, how she should look, and what she should accomplish. Yet these stereotypes continue to crop up, suggesting that women should live up to a different set of expectations than men—a poisoned idea that propels discrimination and holds women back from attaining promotions or positions of leadership.

Yes, society is making progress when it comes to gender equity. Just think of what our grandmothers—not to mention our grandfathers—would have thought of a black female vice president, the extraordinary life and legacy of Ruth Bader Ginsberg, or the #MeToo movement. Even medical schools are finally enrolling more female than male students; in 2019, the AAMC reported 50 percent of students were women and 49 percent were men.

[​IMG]