centered image

Women in Medicine: Unite (Or At Least Stop Repressing Each Other)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dr.Scorpiowoman, Mar 4, 2020.

1. Dr.Scorpiowoman

Dr.Scorpiowoman Golden Member

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

The #MeToo and #NeedHerScience movements have inspired women to take a stand against sexism in health care. What I see missing from the movements are women in medicine confronting their own discrimination toward other women.

[​IMG]

I’m an orthopedic surgery resident. It’s a male-dominated specialty — only about 15% of us are women. When I joined the ranks, I expected to have to fight hard to earn the respect of my colleagues, something everyone new to a profession must do. What surprised me was that much of the struggle for trust and respect would be with my female co-workers, especially nurses and the scrub techs who prepare, organize, and hand surgical instruments to surgeons during procedures.

The dynamic reminds me of an episode from the Showtime series “The L Word,” in which one of the women describes what happens when male lobsters get tossed into a pot of boiling water: They build a ladder to help each other escape. Female lobsters, she says, pull each other down, dragging everyone to the bottom so they can die together. I can’t speak to the veracity of the claim about lobster behavior, but the analogy rings true from my on-the-job encounters.

When I first started as a junior resident in the operating room, a sense of distrust and hostility often permeated the sterile, cold air. “Oh, you’re the ortho resident?” one of the female operating room nurses asked. “Are you cut out for this job?” she continued, eyebrows raised behind her surgical mask, scanning me from head to toe. A female orthopedics resident who is a colleague of mine shared an exchange she had with a female scrub tech who refused to pass surgical instruments to her, saying, “Female surgeons just aren’t good enough to deserve them.”