centered image

centered image

20 Reasons I’m a Doctor but I Prefer Friends Who Are Not

Discussion in 'Doctors Cafe' started by Egyptian Doctor, May 20, 2024.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Choosing to be a doctor is a commitment to a life filled with long hours, relentless studying, and high stress. It's an all-consuming vocation that leaves little room for much else. So, when it comes to my social life, I often find myself gravitating towards friends who are not doctors. Here are 20 reasons why, told with the kind of humor and honesty only a fellow physician can truly appreciate.

1. Fresh Conversations
    After spending all day talking about ailments, symptoms, and treatments, it's refreshing to discuss anything else. Friends who aren’t doctors bring conversations about the latest TV shows, new restaurants, or even their recent yoga class - a welcome break from medical jargon.

2. Avoiding the Competitive Spirit
    Doctors are notoriously competitive. Whether it's comparing cases or career milestones, it’s nice to have friends who don't make me feel like I'm in a perpetual contest. My non-doctor friends couldn’t care less about who published more papers this year.

3. Different Perspectives
    Seeing the world through different lenses is enlightening. While my medical colleagues and I can get trapped in our healthcare bubble, my friends from other professions offer diverse viewpoints and experiences, enriching my understanding of the world.

4. Escape from Work
    Being around other doctors can sometimes feel like an extension of work. With non-doctor friends, I'm less likely to get dragged into medical discussions during my precious downtime. It’s a clean escape from the daily grind.

5. Humor that Isn’t Dark