centered image

centered image

5 Ways to Elevate Your Heart Rate While Doing Low Impact Walking

Discussion in 'Physical Therapy' started by Egyptian Doctor, Sep 20, 2013.

1. Egyptian Doctor

Egyptian Doctor Moderator Verified Doctor

Practicing medicine in:
    Egypt

Before I begin, I must stress that I am not a fitness expert. Before starting any weight loss or fitness regimen, you should consult with your doctor and/or fitness coach. That aside, I've managed to lose 92 pounds in just under 5 months. The majority of my workouts have consisted of low impact aerobic walking. What is low impact? Low impact exercises involve little stress on the body and joints. It excludes things like jogging and jumping. It includes things like walking, biking, and swimming. Low impact exercises can become high intensity, particularly when using a full range of motion.

One of my favorite things to do is walk outdoors, but a simple stroll around town may not be challenging enough to get that heart rate raised. Here are a few things that I do while walking outdoors that not only get me all sweaty, but also get more muscle involved:

Listen to Music with a Fast Beat

It's really easy to increase the speed of your walking when you've got a quick beat to fall into. Try finding something fun and light. If the majority of the music you listen to is slow and somber, check out the weekly Hot 100 for some ideas.

Use Your Water Bottle as a Weight

If you don't have dumbbells or feel self-conscious about carrying dumbbells on your outdoor walk; utilize your water bottle instead! While pumping your arms, carry the bottle sideways in one hand (so the weight of the water is somewhat balanced throughout). Contract the muscles in the arm you're using as you pump it. Alternate between both arms at whatever length of time is comfortable for you.

Make it a Dance Walk